Juried Art Show

10 05 2008

I have entered two pieces in the Arts of Tolland Annual Juried Art Show!

Brendan in the Window

This is called Window, and it’s a colored pencil drawing of my boyfriend, Brendan, sitting at a window. I only drew in the highlights, and left the shadows the color of the paper. Jenny from Artsake Gallery framed this piece with a frame that is reminiscent of a window. I wanted to get an actual window frame to frame it with, but couldn’t find one! If anyone has any extra window frames lying around — let me know! I would love to be able to use it somehow in a piece. I’m always looking for neat things to use creatively.

Converse

This is a painting of my shoe. Obviously! I love Converse shoes, and own lots of different colors. My most recent buy is olive green low tops with teal stripes. This painting is done in watercolor and took me a couple of hours to do. I just wanted to paint one day, and chose to paint my shoe. I love my orange chucks! Jenny at Artsake also framed this piece. We chose a thin dark blue frame, that matches the lines in the sole (soul) of the shoe. Then the mat that we chose is a fabric orange that matches the shoe perfectly! To top it all off, we found grommets that we put centered on the bottom of the mat to match the grommets on the side of the shoe! That’s my favorite part! 

So I hope both of these pieces get into the show, the opening is at the Arts of Tolland on Sunday May 18th, from 1 to 4 and the awards ceremony is from 2 to 3. I will keep you posted and let you know when I find out if I got into the show or not.

Wish me luck!

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 05 2008
Kate

Hey Sarah! Thanks for the links! I’ve linked to you as well… I’m trying to fix my blog up a bit (Typepad is a bit lacking in the customization, but WordPress was too advanced for me…ha). Thanks for looking at my sites and for the kind words about the logo. I’m happy with how it turned out too! Good luck with the show!

13 05 2008
I got in! « I am drawn to you.

[…] got in! 13 05 2008 Both my pieces that I mentioned the other day got in to the 5th Annual Juried Art Show in Tolland, […]

Leave a Reply

