Illustration Friday – Sail

14 08 2008

I have been addicted to the Olympics since 8/8/08. I have been watching it religiously almost every night. Staying up late, and not getting enough sleep. All because I’m on the edge of my seat waiting to see who’s going to win the gold. I saw the topic for this week and put it off. I can’t think of anything. Then it occurred to me – who sails better than anyone in the world? Michael Phelps. He is now the best Olympian. Ever. He has more gold medals than anyone in history, and he has the potential to win the most gold medals in one Olympic Game. 

He sails through the water like no one else. He does it for America. He does it for himself. He swims like a fish, but he sails like an eagle.


This was done with colored pencil on colored paper.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 08 2008
Vickie

It’s a very nice illustration and also a great tribute to Michael Phelps. I’ve been sleep deprived because of the Olympics, also. I’m glad you could stay awake for this illustration.

15 08 2008
Alpha S.

I do hope you are able to send this illustration to Mr. Phelps, it’s a wonderful tribute to his magnificient performance at the games.

15 08 2008
wedgienet

oooh, i didn’t really notice the eagle at first… great job! love how you did the water, especially 🙂

15 08 2008
Liora

Great attribute and nice concept, not too obvious but clear and clever.

23 08 2008
Laura

What a wonderful illustration. You really conveyed motion and emotion. Great job!

Sorry for the duplicate…I noticed a problem with the other web link.

Leave a Reply

