Three Pets — One Portrait

12 11 2008

This portrait consists of three pets! A Golden Retriever puppy, a cat, and a German Shepherd. The client wanted a portrait for his wife for Christmas, but he wanted to include all the pets! I created an initial sketch and manipulated it in photoshop until I got the right composition. The client then approved the sketch and the final drawing was started. This piece is 16″ x 20″ drawn with pastels on sage green paper. The pastels really give the animals a great sense of softness. Since it may be hard to see in the final piece, I posted a detail of the German Shepherd, so you can get a better sense of what it really looks like.

3animals

Detail:

3animals-detail

If you’d like to get a portrait done of your pets, contact me for pricing and a timeline. If you’d like to see more samples of my work, visit my website: sarahpaolucci.com

I can also created greeting cards with my artwork! Click here to see samples of my greeting cards… And Christmas cards!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 11 2008
Brendan

this is a wonderful piece and i hope many people commission you to do their pets, friends, and family for them

12 11 2008
Chrystal Tellar

My husband was so impressed and excited about your work that he could not wait until Christmas to give it to me. He suprised me with it the night he picked it up from you. Tears welled up and I couldn’t help but cry the minute I saw it. It is absolutely beautiful and I will cherish it forever. Not only is it a fantastic piece of artwork, but also the most thoughtful gift anyone has ever given me. I was in the National Art Honor Society in school and believe me, I am in awe of your work. This piece is so realistic with incredible detail, in a sense it brings Kohler (my shepard) back to life for me as every time I see it I also smile with a memory of her. It is priceless to me and I can’t thank you or my husband enough. We are waiting for the custom frame to come in and then will hang it where everyone can enjoy. I love animals so more work for you might be on it’s way.

Leave a Reply

