Greeting Card / Xmas Card

15 12 2008

This particular client wanted a xmas card, but they also wanted a card they could use all year round, as a note card. They own a lavender farm as well as a Christmas tree farm. They provided me with several photos of the two of them on their prized Triumph motorcycle in and around the lavender and trees. I did two sketches for them, one horizontal and one vertical. They wanted a vertical format, but they liked the horizontal sketch better. So I reworked the horizontal sketch into a taller format so they would be happy with it. Once I got their approval on the sketch I started the final drawing. This was done in colored pencils. I started in the foreground with the lavender and worked my way backwards to the trees. I created the note card first, then, I created the decorations for the tree using tracing paper. Which I then scanned and added in photoshop.

phyllisdon-sm

phyllisdon-xmas3

 

Here is a detail of the bike:

phyllisdon-xmasdetail

The clients ended up with a portrait they can display all year round of the two of them, and unique, personalized Christmas cards to send out to friends and family.

Actions

Information

One response

20 12 2008
Phyllis & Don

We are so pleased with our portrait and cards. Sarah captured our likeness
and our “moment” at the farm perfectly. This gal is a delight to work with as well. Check out her website for more examples of her many and varied talents!

Leave a Reply

