Illustration Friday – Pale

21 01 2009

The topic for Illustration Friday this week is Pale. It’s kind of a bland word, doesn’t make me think of much except white, or ghosts, but I kept thinking…. Then I remembered Batman (from long ago!) with Michael Keaton when Jack Nicholson played the Joker. Jack’s famous line in this movie is, “Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moonlight?” I thought about this and the great imagery that could go along with it. I never have danced with the devil in the pale moonlight, he’s never asked me… so what would it look like if he did?

devil-palemoonlight-sm

This is a sketch done in pencil. I would like to do a final piece, probably in scratchboard, to get the stark black and white, then color in some red with watercolors.

Actions

Information

9 responses

21 01 2009
rui

nice, lovely work!
congratulations and regards!

visit my new and fresh blog:
http://www.ruisousaartworks.blogspot.com

21 01 2009
Laura Marsh

Brilliant! Nice use of perspective.

21 01 2009
Matthew Smith

great illo and perspective with the hand and body! kudos.

21 01 2009
Szen

Fantastic. I love this.

21 01 2009
kathyhare

wonderful..

22 01 2009
Ujwala

nice take on the topic and beautiful ilo.

24 01 2009
Jenn DesAutels

oooh! Maybe he’s evil but I’m sure he’s one hell of a dancer! One thing – It looks like he is reaching upward toward the viewer but the moon is behind him. Perhaps if the moon is rising it would make sense? Just my 2c. Great style and rendering!

9 02 2009
Ever Dance with the Devil in the Pale Moonlight? « I am drawn to you.

[…] is a finished piece from a previous post. It is done in scratchboard and I painted the devil red with watercolor. The face didn’t come […]

25 08 2009
prabhugsp

I was drawn to that piece of sketch
Visit my pencil sketching blog too

Leave a Reply

