Pencils… in Sculpture?

26 04 2010

Awhile back, I wrote a blog about Jennifer Maestre. I admired her work and since then I have discovered her on etsy, where my boyfriend bought me a beautiful necklace made from colored pencils. Her work is amazing. It consists of colored pencils sharpened and sewn together. It’s prickly and organic all at the same time. It was really great to be able to actually meet her! Here is a photo of Jenn in front of her artwork:

And more pics of her sculptures:

We also discovered another artist that makes sculptures using pencils…. except instead of creating sculptures with pencils Dalton Ghetti creates sculptures from pencils… All of his work is sculpted from a single pencil. You have to see it to believe it.

This is a carpenter’s pencil  with a very detailed boot carved into the lead:

This pencil has a tiny spool of thread with a needle. The thread actually goes through the eye of the needle. The needle is carved from the lead of the pencil.

This is the alphabet carved into each piece of lead on top of 26 different pencils.

Here is a detail of the alphabet:

This one is my favorite:

At first, I didn’t think much of it. I thought, “why would he put a chain on a pencil?” But then I realized, that he didn’t put a chain on a pencil… He carved the lead of this pencil into chain links. This is one pencil. Pretty amazing, isn’t it?? Dalton Ghetti is a carpenter by trade, and spends a few hours a day sculpting these little masterpieces. He doesn’t use a magnifying glass, but there is a box full of them at the museum so you can see the amount of detail that goes into these pencils.

I went to the museum to see one artist that I admired and I discovered a new one. Both using pencils, in completely different ways. This show opened on April 2, 2010 and will be open until August 29, 2010.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

