MC Escher @ New Britain

3 09 2010

The MC Escher show at the New Britain Museum of American Art is a MUST SEE!

Even if you’ve never heard of MC Escher, I guarantee you’ve marveled at his artwork at one time or another. It’s amazing to think that he never thought of himself as an artist, nor a mathematician, but to create such elaborate worlds he must be a little of both…

Being an avid MC Escher fan, I had seen all of his artwork in books, but none in person until now. It was amazing, how many great pieces they had at the show. I guess being lithographs and woodcuts, there are more “originals” out there than other artists who do paintings, therefore making it easier to assemble a show of 130 works.

The part that I loved the most, was seeing his sketches. I want to see how he did it!

Then, I had to go to the gift shop… Where there were puzzles… of MC Escher drawings…
Puzzles are my weakness OR my strength depending on how you look at it. 🙂

I did this puzzle on my breaks and in the evening. It was tough and it took me about a week. Puzzles of this size usually take me about a night… I get kind of addicted. I couldn’t even stop long enough to take a picture before it was done!

M.C. Escher: Impossible Reality
July 16 – Nov. 14, 2010

For more information about the show go to:

New Britain Museum of American Art

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

