Getting Out

19 04 2011

It helps to get out sometimes. My creativity is fueled by new and different experiences and sometimes sitting here in my studio can be stifling. Don’t get me wrong. I love it here! My studio is awesome. But it’s the same, everyday. I was trying to come up with a new illustration for a play that is coming up in Mystic in July. I just couldn’t think of the right combination of imagery. I had artist’s block. So I went out, on this particular day and visited an old bookstore that I had never been too. It was quaint and small and a sweet, little old lady had owned if for 40 years. Then I went to Starbucks to have a coffee I was craving. I sat and I thought and I doodled. And it came to me. It was simple and to the point and communicated exactly what I wanted. I knew I had it!

Sometimes all it takes is a change of scenery. A new adventure. A walk outside, in the other direction. A phone call to someone you haven’t spoken to in a while. Sometimes I forget that. Sometimes I forget, that the more I try to hole myself up in my little room, the less creative I become. I need to expand my world. It’s a hard to concept to grasp because sometimes I feel guilty for not being in my studio. What I need to remember is this: I could spend all day in my studio and if I’m not inspired, it’ll be crap and I’ll have to do it all over again. OR I could spend the morning getting inspired in some way and spend a very productive afternoon in my studio!

It’s not something I need to do everyday. Most days it comes easy and I can work just fine in my studio. But every now and then, I get a little cabin fever. So don’t be afraid to get out of your comfort zone and get out of your studio to expand your mind and your horizons.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2011
Kristin Brænne

★★★★★

20 04 2011
Tere

You are right! Shifting your visual focus can open your eyes to new creativity…and I’ve found it doesn’t just apply to art, but to other creative endeavors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

