Day 8 – 30 Days

28 06 2011

Today I tried something different. I tried to paint with my new tablet. I’ve had a tablet for awhile and I’ve used it for photo editing and drawing expressive lines, but never digital painting. I tried it once awhile back and gave up when it came out crappy and not at all up to par with my other artwork. So I put it out of my mind. No. Digital painting was not something that I could do. But I was determined today. I can use most media to create a pretty realistic portait: pencil, charcoal, pastel, colored pencil, pen and ink, watercolor… I can handle pretty much any traditional medium. But digital painting always eluded me. So today was the day… It’s just another medium right?

Here is the photo I used for reference: (This is Sophia my niece, isn’t she adorable?)

And here is what I came up with after about an hour of painting:

I could have gone for another hour… This was a lot easier than I remember! (I’m sure the new Wacom tablet helped as well) I just kept working at it in photoshop and pushing and pulling the lights and darks. It’s not the best drawing, but it’s a quick study and now I know a little more about digital painting. When I have more time, I’ll go back into this and finish it.

If you want to keep up to date with my 30 days, follow me on facebook or twitter!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

