Day 11 : Illustration Friday : Remedy

1 07 2011

Today’s creative thing is inspired by yesterday’s drawing. These are the types of drawing I would do when I was younger. I would follow my dog around as she slept and I would draw her as fast and as accurately as I could. Sometimes I would end up with an entire dog… and other times, just a few lines.

AND today’s Illustration Friday topic is: Remedy. I brainstormed about this for awhile, and I just think my dog is appropriate for nearly any remedy. He’s the remedy to a bad day, a restless sleep, boredom, loneliness, he can cure it all. 🙂 He pretty much makes me smile every time I look at him. I mean, look at those eyes! How could you not??

Max gestures

As you can see, some poses, he held for longer than others. The one with his eye open, I had to keep talking to him, otherwise, he would have fallen asleep… again.

Alright, so you may have figured out that I’m a little obsessed with my dog. So I promise no more drawings of Maxwell for awhile, at least not for the rest of the 30 Days of Creativity. Deal? Deal. The whole point of this exercise is to try new things… Something I need to try outside of my art as well. 🙂

If you want to keep up to date with my 30 days, follow me on facebook or twitter!

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 07 2011
Patti Gay

nice sketches

2 07 2011
eldy

Dogs are indeed the great cure-all! I love your work.

4 07 2011
Mindful Drawing

Nice sketches and….I agree, nice dog 🙂

4 07 2011
Ashley May

I still try to follow my dog around and do the same, next to impossible though with a hyper active 2 year old Australian shepherd lol. Beautiful sketches!

6 07 2011
Laurie

Maxwell looks like a wonderful friend – what a soulful eye.

8 07 2011
LucyLocketsPocket

its ok to draw your dog lots! i love mine tooo! they are a perfect loyal friend 🙂 beautiful sketches x

Leave a Reply

