Day 28 – 30 Days of Creativity

22 07 2011

I’m a very lucky person. It was hot today, too hot. And yesterday too. So I decided that it would be better to be hot by a lake than in my studio. My studio is a pretty cool place. It’s in the basement, and I have air conditioning, but I don’t like to use it. I’d much rather just be in a cooler place. …or go jump in a lake. So that’s what I did today. I brought my computer and a few art supplies and drove up to the lake. I knew what work had to be done and I did it. Here at the lake. Then I jumped in and cooled off, went back to the computer and worked some more. In my bathing suit. On the deck. I repeat: I’m a very lucky person.

So my 28th day of creativity, I took my portable watercolor set and sat by the lake and painted the neighbors beach. (using lake water)

 

It’s not the best quality image, because I don’t have my scanner. So I took a picture with my iphone and color corrected the best I could in photoshop. It’s pretty close to the original.

Part of what makes a good artist is knowing when to stop. I still struggle with this. The background of this piece could have been very simple, but I didn’t like it, so I just kept going. I made it darker and darker. It is dark back there, but this might be darker than it’s supposed to be… Oh well. It looked better when I stepped back. See? 🙂

 

 

If you want to keep up to date with my 30 days, follow me on facebook or twitter!

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

