First Birthday Present

6 08 2011

My niece has turned one year old. She’s the cutest little thing ever, and getting cuter. I decided awhile ago that I needed to make her a growth chart. Originally I was going to make it pink and Sophia-like, but then I thought… what if they have another? and another? I think it would be nice to have all their heights recorded on the same growth chart. So I made one that is gender-neutral, just in case there is another and it’s a boy. You never know! πŸ™‚
So I made it more graphic, as opposed to using imagery. I designed it on the computer and used a classic Helvetica Bold font. Then transferred the image to the board and painted away! It starts at two feet, and goes to 6. I think it’s safe to say she won’t exceed six feet since both parents are under 5’7″… So this will last for ever.
Each number is a foot tall, and the inches are listed and it’s marked down to a quarter inch. Here is a photo I have from when I just finished the painting of it. I don’t have one of the finished piece because, well, it’s already wrapped, and I don’t have enough wrapping paper to re-wrap… So this will have to do for now. I will add an official pic of Sophia next to it when she opens it.

I also decided to make a card/poem for Sophia. Here’s a pic of the card. It’s made from one sheet of paper, cut once and folded to make a booklet.

Here’s a pic that gives a clue as to how it’s created. I just cut a slit into the middle of the paper and folded it in half.

Happy First Birthday to my little Sophia!

Actions

Information

One response

8 08 2011
Sophia's mommy

Sophia LOVED the card and the growth chart! She was napping when we opened her gift, but once we put it up, I’ll snap a pic for you with her standing at her tall 27.5″ mark πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

