Day 16 – 30 days of Creativity

6 07 2011

 

I was talking to my cousin about Letterboxing this weekend. (letterboxing is like low-tech geocaching, you have a description of where the box is and you go find it. Then you stamp the book and write the date and leave something for the next person to find.) I did a few last year, but I didn’t really know the ins and outs. Here is a website to help clarify: letterboxing.org. You are supposed to have your own customized stamp and stamp it into the book that you find. So I decided to make one for my adventures this year.

I wanted to go to the store and buy a brand new block that would be easy to carve, or a large eraser, but I wanted to try to do it with things from around the house. I found some mat board and cut out the design that I wanted, and glued it to another piece of matboard that would easily fit into the stamp pad. The problem is… the stamp pad is a bit dried up and mat board tends to absorb all the ink instantly. So after I took this pic, I added a glossy layer of acrylic gel medium. That way the ink won’t get absorbed into the mat board and will create a better stamp. It will probably last longer too. Here’s a pic of the stamp I made.

 

20110706-093312.jpg

Once I get a new stamp pad, Max and I will be ready to go!

If you want to keep up to date with my 30 days, follow me on facebook or twitter!

 





Day 15 – 30 days of creativity

6 07 2011

I found a tutorial to create this and i thought it would turn into a trivet, but the twine I used isn’t thick enough. So it’s just a design. But if I made them a little smaller they could be coasters. So I need to make a bunch of small ones!

20110706-092811.jpg

 

If you want to keep up to date with my 30 days, follow me on facebook or twitter!